Student Government Bi-Weekly Meeting Recap

by Rosalie Sapperstein Contributing Writer

3 mins read

Drew’s Student Government conducted their bi-weekly Wednesday meeting on Oct. 12 at 8 p.m. in EC. The meeting began with President Nate Roark (C‘24) addressing the senate to highlight one of the new resources available on campus: the Center for Mentoring and Professional Networks.  

Carol Bassie, director of the center, was invited to speak about the center’s potential. “The center for mentoring really is designed to give all students equitable access to the alumni community, which is so important because about 85% of all jobs are found through network connections,” Bassie said, elaborating on the center’s role in combating growing difficulties for college graduates to find employment. 

“The whole goal behind the center is to make sure that every student has a solid network of alumni mentors, in addition to faculty staff and peer mentors that we already have on campus.” The center is being proactive to get the word out about its services. More information can be found at Center for Mentoring and Professional Networks | Drew University.

During the meeting, Senator Elisabeth Sauerman (‘24) also proposed appointing Jaden Mena (‘25) as the new co-chair of the Sustainability Committee. “She is currently a student member of the committee and has been since the start of the semester,” said Sauerman, who also currently serves as one of the Sustainability Committee’s existing chairs. “And already, she’s done some amazing work and has shown excellent initiative, passion and enthusiasm for the work that we want to do.”

Jaden Mena (’25) Photo courtesy of Jaden Mena via Drew Launch

Describing her future aspirations for the role, Mena said, “I really want to focus on the engagement in sustainable action on campus. I’ve realized that when working with any environmental change, there’s always a rift between the knowledge that we have and the action that we want to implement, and I really want to attempt to bridge that gap.” 

Senator Rudy Cazenave (‘25) made the motion to appoint Mena as co-chair, and the motion came to pass.

For students who are interested, the student government meetings are open to the student body and occur bi-weekly on Wednesdays starting at 8 p.m. in EC 145.

Featured image courtesy of @DrewStuGov on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Previous Story

Cartoon by Annabelle Smith

Next Story

Ollie’s Opinions: Turtlenecks Are Strangulation Death Traps

Latest from Blog

%d bloggers like this: