End of an era for Coach T

2 mins read

By Kathryn Swenor

On April 21, the Drew University Athletic Department announced that head men’s lacrosse coach Thomas Leanos would retire after the 2017 season. Known by his players and other student athletes as Coach T, he is a 1970 graduate of Hofstra University, where he was an All-Met Division All-Star for the team and participated in the North-South All-Star Classic.

Having served 34 year as a college lacrosse coach, beginning as the assistant coach at Salisbury and the head coach at Southampton College, before coming to Drew University in 1988. In addition to serving as the men’s lacrosse coach, Leanos is also the facilities manager for the athletic department and responsible for organizing the scheduling and operation of Ranger Stadium.

 Leanos will retire from coaching with 253 wins (and counting), two conference championships and six ECAC championships. His team captured the two Conference Championships in 1994 and 2008 and the six ECAC Championships during the 1988, 1993, 1998, 1999, 2000 and 2008 seasons.

At the beginning of 2017, Leanos was ranked 20th among active coaches across all divisions of the NCAA with 247 wins. In Division III, he was ranked 11th among active coaches. All-time in Division III, Leanos ranked 18th. Leanos is also an inductee to the New Jersey Lacrosse Hall of Fame and an active member of the Intercollegiate Men’s Lacrosse Coaches Association.

Last weekend’s conference win against Goucher captured the number three seed for the 2017 Landmark Conference Championship Tournament when Seamus O’Connor (’20) scored the overtime goal. This will now be Leanos’ 15th conference playoff appearance.

Leanos’ final home game at Ranger Stadium is scheduled for tomorrow at 2:45 p.m. against Susquehanna University.

Leave a Reply

Previous Story

Women’s tennis to host playoffs

Next Story

Softball celebrates senior day

Latest from Blog

%d bloggers like this: